
Primary Sources Online | Article Databases | Special Collections and Major Microfilm Sets
Other Internet Resources | How to Find Dissertations (US and Foreign)
UCLA Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies
Recommend a Purchase
Subject Specialist for Western European Studies: Katalin Radics
Acta Sanctorum
A collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organised according to each saint's feast day, and runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940. The Acta Sanctorum Database contains the entire Acta Sanctorum, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indices. Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers, essential references for scholars, are also included.
ARTFL
The American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language is a cooperative project of the CNRS and the University of Chicago. It is a large goup of licensed and freely available databases including the following:
Provençal Poetry,
Textes de Français Ancien (TFA),
Translation of the Bible by Louis Segond,
and B.A.S.I.L.E.: Le Corpus de la littérature narrative du Moyen Age au XXe siècle: Romans, Contes, Nouvelles.
Corpus de la literature médievale
About 900 full text works (narrative prose, poetry, chansons de geste and drama) in the best editions published by Champion.
Dictionnaire de l'ancienne langue française et de tous ses dialectes du 9e au 15e siècle by Frédéric Godefroy and Dictionnaire de la langue française du 16e siècle by Edmond Huguet Dictionnaires des 16e et 17e siècles
Online access to the most important French historical dictionaries of the Moyen Age and Renaissance.
Dictionary of Old English Corpus
The dictionary is a complete record of surviving Old English except for some variant manuscripts of individual texts.
Early English Books Online
Citations from early English texts from 1475 to 1700, presented as digital images. Includes works by Malory, Bacon, More, Erasmus, Boyle, Newton, Galileo; musical exercises by Henry Purcell and novels by Aphra Behn; prayer books, pamphlets, and proclamations; almanacs, calendars, and many other primary sources.
Early English Books Online - Text Creation Partnership
Searchable SGML/XML text editions of image files contained in Early English Books Online.
Iter Italicum
The most comprehensive finding list available of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world. Originally published in six volumes between 1963 and 1992.
Literature Online: LION
An array of literary databases (including the full text of poems, plays, and fiction), reference works (including bibliographies, encyclopedias, etc.), and links to other Web resources for the study of literature. The complete text of journal articles is available on the database for all or some of the journals indexed. Click on Complete Contents on the left menu to see the groups of works listed chronologically.
Middle English Compendium
Three major Middle English resources: a dictionary, a bibliography, and a collection of texts.
Patrologia Latina
An electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. It comprises the works of the Church Fathers, Tertullian (200 A.D.) to Pope Innocent III (1216).
Renaissance Women Online
This is a special subset of the database Woman Writers Online; a collection of 100 Renaissance texts accompanied by contextual and topical essays.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae a Digital Library of Greek Literature : TLG
The TLG contains virtually all Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600 and the majority of surviving works up the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453.
Electronic databases are the best tools for finding articles, biographical information, statistical or economic data, and legal information. Some of the databases present and offer for search not only the bibliographic information (author, title, subject etc.) of the articles but the full texts of the articles themselves too.
The yellow UC eLinks symbol leads to UCLA or UC holdings of the item retrieved.
International Medieval Bibliography
Interdisciplinary bibliography of Europe, North Africa and the Near East for the period 300-1500. Comprehensive current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
The bibliography includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
Intenational Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages and Lexikon des Mittelalters online
36,700 articles written by 3,000 authors cover all aspects of medieval studies within the period 300 to 1500. Its geographical scope covers the whole of Europe, part of the Middle East, and parts of North Africa to document the roots of Western culture and those of its neighbours in the Byzantine, Arab and Jewish worlds.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Journal articles, book reviews, and essays about women, sexuality and gender in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, from 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E., with citations for Russia extended to 1613. Subject coverage for gender and sexuality means that articles on masculinity and male homosexuality are included. Publications indexed are in English, French, German, and Spanish, and in Italian since 2001.
Index of Christian Art
Index to medieval art in books, manuscripts, and photographs. Records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1971 and early 2002.
Bibliography of the History of Art
International Index to the Performing Arts IIPA Full Text
Besides general journals on theater, cinema, opera, popular and even folk culture, the database includes entries on journals like, for example, the Medieval and Renaissance Drama in England [Full text available], Medieval English Theatre, and Renaissance Drama [Full text available].
Historical Abstracts
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1967.
FRANCIS
A bibliographic index to multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities, social sciences, economics, religion, the history of art and literature from 1984 to the present. Represents a wide range of materials, including serials, journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, French dissertations, exhibition catalogs, legislation, teaching materials, and reports. Prepared by the Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique du CNRS.
Periodicals Archives Online (formerly PCI Full Text)
Indexes thousands of periodicals in the social sciences and humanities from 1770-1995, and currently offers full text of articles for 200 complete journal runs.
International Bibliography of Book Reviews
This database contains over one million entries about book reviews from 1985 onwards. It is international (mostly from Europe and the United States) and interdisciplinary and its reviews have been published in more than 6600 academic journals, mainly in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes bibliographic data of journal articles, dissertations, collected works in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1963 to the present. (Search guide to MLA International Bibliography and CSA)
Project Muse
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Medieval Manuscripts Collection. List of the manuscripts held in the different Special Collections of UCLA.
Bound Manuscripts Collection. Over 700 manuscripts from the 7th to the 19th century.
Ahmanson-Murphy Aldines Collection. More than 750 publications of Aldo Manuzio. Checklist of the collection
Elmer Belt Library of Vinciana. Collection of books and materials concerning Leonardo da Vinci and the Italian Renaissance.
Books printed in the low countries before 1601. Individual titles of the collection are listed on Melvyl. SRLF
Canon Law KBR195 C36 Guide to the collection
French Books before 1601. Individual titles of the collection are listed on Melvyl. SRLF
German Books before 1601.
SRLF. Includes over 3000 German, Swiss and Austrian printed books from the 15th and 16th centuries. Individual titles of the collection are listed on Melvyl.
Hispanic Culture Series.
This collection includes Spanish, Portuguese, and Latin American books of the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries, covering both belletristic writings and critical and scientific works in all fields. Individual titles of the collection are listed on Melvyl. CRL
Incunabula: the printing revolution in Europe, 1455-1500.
UCLA Library has: Chronicles and Historiography (Units 4-5); Printing in Italy before 1472 (Units 7-10); Incunabula Hebraica (Units 16-17)
Italian Books before 1601. Individual titles of the collection are listed on Melvyl. SRLF
Manuscripta: microfilms of rare and out-of-print books. Individual titles of the collection are listed on the UCLA Library catalog.
Scandinavian Culture Series (Books before 1701) Searchable guide linked to UCLA Library catalog record. PT7013
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
Includes a large number of medieval sources (full text as well) organized by language, culture, and area.
The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies
Comprehensive resource for medieval studies.
The Canterbury Tales Project
This project aims to establish a system of computer readable transcription of the manuscripts and early editions of the work.
NetSERF: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources
Comprehensive resource for medieval studies.
Dartmouth Dante Project
Contains the full text of "La Commedia" and commentaries by more than 70 authors.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays about women, sexuality and gender in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, from 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E., with citations for Russia extended to 1613.
Images of Medieval Art and Architecture
A database of medieval architecture sites in France and Britain.
Images from the history of medicine
Access to the nearly 60,000 images in the prints and photograph collection of the History of Medicine Division of the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
IMMI : a guide to the Index of Medieval medical images database
Covers the objectives, organization and use of the IMMI database that describes and indexes the content of all medieval manuscript images (up to the year 1500) with medical components presently held. In North American collections.
Monastic Matrix
A scholarly resource for the study of women’s religious communities from 400 to 1600 CE edited by Lisa Bitel and Katherine Gill (University of Southern California). The database is a collection of primary and secondary sources, as well as images, related to religious women in premodern Europe.
The Online Medieval and Classical Library
A collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization.
Page created and maintained by Katalin Radics, Subject Specialist for Western European Studies
Last updated: January 2008 © Regents of the University of California
Illustration copied with the kind permission of C. Otis Sweezey from his web site: The History of Costume by Braun & Schneider - c.1861-1880, Plate #12.